Pac-12 comes to ELAC

By Tadzio Garcia

The NCAA Division I Pacific-12 Conference will host their men’s swimming championships for four days at the East Los Angeles Swim Center beginning Wednesday at 6 p.m.

Wednesday’s agenda includes the 50-yard, 200-yard and 500-yard freestyle races as well as the 200-yard individual medley freestyle.

Preliminaries and standard times trials begin on Thursday through Saturday,at 11 a.m. Evening finals begin at 6 p.m. each night. Admission is free on Wednesday night.

All other days, tickets are $10-day passes for adults, $6-day passes for students with current I.D., seniors and children. All-Session passes are $25 for adults, $15 for students with I.D., seniors and children.

The Pac-12 boasts Olympic hopefuls to compete at the 2012 Olympics at the Aquatic Centre in Hyde Park, London.

Among the hopefuls, the University of Stanford’s Chad La Tourette fell just short of making the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing as a freshman

Since then, La Tourette has led the Cardinal to two Pac-10 Conference men’s swimming titles. Stanford has won the past 30 conference championships since 1982.

During that time the University of California, Berkeley has been the runner-up 13 times, including the last 10 years.

Prior to that, the University of Southern California won 17 titles from 1961-1981. During this span, the University of California, Los Angeles edged USC for two conference championships.

The Cardinal championship streak may however come to an end at ELAC.

The University of Arizona is the top-ranked team in the country. Stanford is ranked third while USC is ranked fifth in the country.

Schools competing at ELAC will be Arizona, Arizona State University, Cal, Stanford, USC, the University of Utah, and affiliates Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo and the University of Santa Barbara.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *