‘Forsaken’ destined to challenge players

CN: Bungie
Player’s guardian carrying Cayde-6 out of the Tangled Shore.                                          Courtesy of Bungie

By Gustavo Buenrostro

Staff Writer

“Destiny 2: Forsaken” takes Guardians into a darker, more somber story in the  download-only to “Destiny 2” sequel.

The story follows players into the Tangled Shore, a desolate place where only hardened outlaws survive, to get revenge on Uldren Sov. Uldren was the former prince of the Awoken, a humanoid species that live in the far reaches of space.

Uldren has hidden himself away in the Tangled Shore for unknown reasons and has surrounded himself with The Scorn, a new group of Fallen with corrupted ether. The players must take out all of The Scorn before they can get to Uldren.

The story for this downloadable content, or DLC, is miles ahead of  “Destiny 2.” It had a compelling story because the developers decided to kill off fan-favorite character, Cayde-6, voiced by Nathan Fillion. This not only created a reason for players to care about what they were doing, but also sets up for Cayde’s revenge in the first act of the entire DLC.

The following two acts of the DLC are the aftermath and finding the reason for why Uldren Sov murdered Cayde. The story leads up to the climax called the “Last Wish” raid, where six players go into the heart of a new area called the Dreaming City to kill the creature that corrupted Uldren.

The new DLC brings back many aspects from the original “Destiny” that “Destiny 2” had done away with. One of the major things that was changed back was that the secondary weapons slots could, once again, have shotguns, snipers and fusion rifles, with those weapon slots still having the normal primary weapons of scout, auto and pulse rifles. In fact, the only weapon slots that don’t have access to all weapon types is the third slot that still just has rocket and grenade launchers.

The DLC also brought in new supers for players to sink their teeth into. Each class received three new ones. In total there are nine new super abilities that change the way players go into encounters.

Each of the supers are added to the already existing supers which gives the players more options of what kind of power they would like to use.

A  new game mode called Gambit was also added. It is a mix of player-versus-player and player-versus-environment, and consists of best of three rounds. Players kill enemy factions, like The Scorn, and collect motes. Players then bring the motes to the middle of the game map and deposit them into a bank.

If players have enough motes, a blocker will be sent to the other side, where the enemy players are try to do the same thing. Blockers keep players from depositing motes and the players have to eliminate the blockers. Once 75 motes have been deposited, a powerful enemy, a primeval, emerges. Both teams are racing to kill the primeval the fastest and can also send one of their own players to the enemies’ side and kill other players, which heal the primeval.

The soft cap, which is when players’ progress seems to stop but is in fact just slowed, at power level 500 can discourage players from continuing. This can be a good and bad thing since the hardcore players of “Destiny” enjoy it, but casual players can find it frustrating. That’s what this DLC boils down to.

“Destiny 2: Forsaken” was made for the hardcore-fanbase of the game, while  “Destiny 2” was made for the casual players. “Forsaken” was intended to bring back players that left after “Destiny 2.” With all the changes back and new aspects put into the DLC, it will take time to see if older players return to the Destiny series. “Destiny 2: Forsaken” is rated T for teen and can be played on PS4, Xbox One and PC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *