Academic Senate elects executive positions

By George Maldonado

East Los Angeles College elected Academic Senate executive positions, District Academic Senate representatives and Senate Career Technical Education representatives at the Academic Senate meeting on May 26.

ELAC Academic Senate president Alex Immerblum, vice president Jeffrey Hernandez and treasurer Sherrie Davey all won re-election.

Immerblum and Davey both won close races, while Hernandez won decisively. Other positions didn’t have to compete because not all had others competing for re-election.

 The meeting had proceeded with major effects to pass through a $38, 250 spending fee to improve the SIS for students. This was unanimously won by the senators of the meeting.

The Student Learning Outcome (SLO) is being revised to provide the best possible knowledge to students, which is done by the faculty and can be seen on class syllabuses.

Hernandez said the SLO is something that affects all departments because of its high importance and is mandatory by all colleges.

Also some departments found it difficult to agree on time frames because of the  difference in schedules. Hernandez also believes that the different departments are well-informed and good hearted, although there is just difference of opinions to create the best system.

 Two candidates, ELAC senate representative Karen Cross from the Computer Application and Office Technologies Department ran against ELAC senate representative of the Architecture Department Alexis Navarro for the position of Senate CTE representative for the Hiring Prioritization Committee.

Academic Senate meeting included the curriculum changes. Such as three new departments and changing the Foreign Language Department’s name to modern language.

An archival was approved by the committee and the senate that would include adding new courses, certificates, AA-T applications and non-credit courses.

Navarro won the election 22-9 and is now the Senate CTE representative for HPC.

 The Annual Update Plan was once again rejected and in need of being revised.

The senate representative of the Journalism Department Jean Stapleton and senate representative of the Nursing Department Lurelean Gaines won the DAS representatives position.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *